It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:46 pm

Announcement: The Vigilant Forums have been reopened! Please see here for further information.

Is Our Brain All We Are?

Philosophical and metaphysical/spiritual discussions non specific to religion.
  • Author

Karlysymon

1.5 stars

• Thanks Received: 282

Re: Who ruled heaven on this day. God or Satan?

PostMon Feb 06, 2017 9:14 am

Loki wrote:in the meantime I ran across
this interview on Reddit and
found it very interesting and
thought you might as well, even if you likely wouldn't agree with it of course. And anyone else who is interested feel free to offer your thoughts on it, or don't, but I just thought I would share, even though it doesn't necessarily have anything to do with the OP. I'm an Admin, so it's fine
The Benefits of Realizing You
Are Just a Brain https://
http://www.newscientist.com/article/
mg ... t-a-brain/ Contrary to the title, I don't think they really discuss much of the "benefits" of embracing this realization, more so it is just a Q&A with neurophilosopher
Patricia Churchland (ironic last name) and her thoughts and explanations of why she feels it is fine, or perhaps important in some ways, to come to such a realization. It is actually a realization I came to and came to terms with years ago but then shifted more towards belief in the soul existing and the brain being the home of the soul. In the interview she does state that of course they can't completely rule out the idea of the soul and the afterlife, just that the likelihood of it is not worth putting all your eggs in that basket, which is a sentiment I have shared since shifting my beliefs to the conjoined brain & soul "theory".